WRITING OF A DAILY DIARY

Standard

Being a very ambitious person, I have been wanting to achieve many things across several fields & build a name for myself. Sometimes at the end of the day I was having a feeling that I have not achieved much in the course of the day. During self-assessment my finger used to be towards several of my errors or weak points, but never to my achievements. Of course I had known several persons who would gloat over and give publicity to even small achievements of theirs. But this was never my cup of tea. I got into the habit of writing a daily diary regularly from my early days, due to the motivation of my father. I was advised to write daily diary (just before going to sleep) thinking, listing out and writing briefly about what actually I had achieved in the day. The contents of my diary writings were not connected with any specific topic but were general in nature.  After some time this diary writing opened my eyes and my feelings of non-performance and depression started disappearing. I got a feeling that I was indeed achieving substantially although not all that I wanted. It caused me sufficient motivation to redouble my efforts and venture in several fields. I started writing diary while travelling also. These were later posted/published as travelogue. I was tempted to make brief notes from the books read by me, with a view to learn some good points. This habit made me write book-reviews and abstracts of books and articles and many have been published in magazines and posted on web sites. The habit of writing also culminated into writing of blogs, several of which have also been posted on web sites. From the points of my diary also, I could write & post blogs. The journey of writing diary has been transformed into publishing and posting of blogs, book-reviews and abstracts. We can continuously write diary for our memories and experience, honest sharing of views and opinion and expressing our own inner feelings to the outside world. We may go deep and discuss both sides of a topic, which may be helpful in solving a problem. While reading the diary later on, the contents may remind us of the past problems faced, methods of overcoming, results achieved, confidence gained and getting   names of some persons which we might have forgotten. This practice has certainly paid me dividends.

                                                                                                                –vijaiksharma

About vijaiksharma

OVERALL BRIEF PROFILE: An engineer cum management professional from Jaipur, India. Has been active as freelance writer, reviewer, trainer, examiner and translator. Has interests in Management, Quality, Meditation and Yoga. Has jointly written 6 books, besides about 185 articles, book-reviews, case studies, interviews and translations etc. published in foreign in Indian publications & 24 radio talks broad cast on All India Radio. A book-reviewer, an abstract writer and one of the “Writers of the month” for Jan 2007 on www.shvoong.com. Has won President of India award in 1968, Fellowship award in 1992 and H K Firodia award in 1996, Colvin Medal in 1957, besides other appreciation letters. Has been abroad 6 times to USA, Europe, Bulgaria and Egypt. Also writes blogs with following links www.vijaiksharmaspeaks.blogspot.in, www.vijaiksharma.webs.com, www.sthavir.blogspot.in,

Leave a Reply

