LOSS OF TRUST DURING PUBLICATIONS

Standard

 

Building up trust takes years, but breaking it is instantaneous. Also once broken, it is very difficult to mend it and even if it is restored, original condition can’t be brought back again. As a freelance writer, I have been writing for several journals and other publications. I visited one organization (let us call it A), which wanted me to review their books. I reviewed three of their books and these were edited, published and also paid for. When I visited them again for continuation and enlargement of the scope of work and association, I was given four books for writing their reviews. I was also requested to review their books in pre-publication stage. I agreed to all of their proposals. But for reasons not known to me, my reviews of these four books sent to them were later neither acknowledged nor published. My reminders were not replied, except at one stage when it was stated that the scripts are under consideration. My reviews of these four books were never published. The books for pre-publication review were never received by me. There was no communication from them about the quality of the reviews, in case they had any reservations. Per force I stopped all dealings with them, due to the breach of trust. Their marketing department went on sending reminders one after another requesting me to subscribe to their journal on an annual basis. I did not respond to any of their letters. Their letters kept on coming for almost three years, including one letter from their Chief executive, but I did not budge an inch. One of the published books of another organization (called B) was reviewed by me and then posted on a web site. When intimated by me, instead of appreciating, I was questioned as to how I had reviewed their book, without their permission. I explained to them that no such permission is needed. Later, on their own, they requested me to review one of their books and get it published in an appropriate journal, which I did. The review was published in a journal of repute and I also arranged for them, a complimentary copy of the particular issue wherein this book-review was published. They seemed to be satisfied. Neither this publisher made any payment nor did I request for the same. Then they wanted me to review several of their books, but were unwilling to make any payment. So I regretted to review their books. Till date I have not reviewed any more of their books. I was writing for another journal (called C), which had suggested and agreed to my writing thematic articles for them. Two of such articles written by me were published by them and copies of these particular issues were received by me. The third article was also approved already but was not being published for a long time. Several of my reminder e mails were not being replied at all, for reasons not known to me. After a long time, it was finally published but then I stopped all my dealings after that publication. During my writing activities, I have also come across some other publications which did not reasonably respond to writer’s communications/letters, asked postage for return of scripts, did not pay at all, did not meet commitments, took the writer for granted and broke the trust in some way or the other. Such actions definitely hurt any writer.

                                                                                                                                                                               vijaiksharma

About vijaiksharma

OVERALL BRIEF PROFILE: An engineer cum management professional from Jaipur, India. Has been active as freelance writer, reviewer, trainer, examiner and translator. Has interests in Management, Quality, Meditation and Yoga. Has jointly written 6 books, besides about 185 articles, book-reviews, case studies, interviews and translations etc. published in foreign in Indian publications & 24 radio talks broad cast on All India Radio. A book-reviewer, an abstract writer and one of the “Writers of the month” for Jan 2007 on www.shvoong.com. Has won President of India award in 1968, Fellowship award in 1992 and H K Firodia award in 1996, Colvin Medal in 1957, besides other appreciation letters. Has been abroad 6 times to USA, Europe, Bulgaria and Egypt. Also writes blogs with following links www.vijaiksharmaspeaks.blogspot.in, www.vijaiksharma.webs.com, www.sthavir.blogspot.in,

Leave a Reply

